9/11…I missed the first one…

…as I was staying with a friend and we did not have access to the news. I remember being in Bochum a few days later and asking my girlfriend if I’d missed anything, surrounded as I was by lots of strange images on TV. She suggested I read the newspaper. I did and had a brief but rather strange feeling I had been transported to a paralell universe. My private life in the years since has often given me the impression that it is so. So here I am in this strange topsy-turvy world having fallen down the rabbit hole into the post 9/11 universe where values are distorted and the image of death has become our mantra. Like many I yearn for the age of innocence when moderation was the key to a civilised life. Did it ever exist or is it just a fiction of my memory? After 9/11 came Madrid then 7/7 and we entered these strange Orwellian times in which there seems so little to hold on to. Yet each one of us in her way is finding a voice. We talk, we blog, we question and together we write our own history. We yearn for peace and truth. We hope. We despair. We are alive. That is our reality.

About Leighton Cooke

The Original Cookiemouse
This entry was posted in 9/11. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9/11…I missed the first one…

  1. Mike E says:

    We talk, we blog, we question and together we write our own history…

    Smart words Leighton Cooke. I wonder — for our own Survival’s sake — if we can use these words to write our own Reality?

  2. We need to create a new reality. One that is sustainable.

Leave a Reply

