Journal, Dimanche…

…My very first cat was called Susie. She was a goddess who had the curious habit of giving birth to kittens in my bed. This always meant that I would be late for school and the sheets would be bloody and messy and I would wake up cuddling a cat suckling its young. It is probably one of the reasons why I developed a passion for biology. We also had a German shepherd called Kim who had the psychic ability to read my emotions. She would rest her snout on my belly when I was sad, and whine softly. I miss them both. They taught me that animals have feelings, intelligence and sensitivities. Today an ecologist I greatly respect wrote to me saying, “I think that the collapse scenario (of the population of India) is a real possibility indeed. However, there is much to be done. As my friends said yesterday, some people still have a soul, and for the sake of our internal chaos we have to keep trying, if not for saving the planet then for ourselves.
Giving up would mean letting them win. The earth is much older than all of us, and what they are doing is insignificant on a geological scale. It is the pain and injustice that is done to people, animals and plants in this very moment that is absurd, abusive and outrageous.
India broke me into pieces. and put me together again in a form that I still have to understand and realize.” I used to work with Sir Olaf Caroe, the last Indian Foreign Secretary and right hand man to Mountbatten as he negociated independence with Gandhi and Nehru. He was a fine English gentleman of the old school. South Asia became free in the hour of midnight’s children on 15 August, 1947. I was born three years later and grew up in a street in Cardiff that has a Hindu temple. A collapse in India would mean a holocaust on an unprecidented scale in human history. Just a 10% reduction in the population would mean the death of over 100 million people, roughly the equivalent of Germany and the Netherlands combined. That is a conservative estimate. We have a duty not to act in bad faith. The average Dutch person spends two euros a year on ethical products such as fair trade coffee. We could do better than that. We must.

About Leighton Cooke

The Original Cookiemouse
This entry was posted in fair trade, India. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

