Quiet Green Tara Sunday…


Green Tara mural, Jokhang…, originally uploaded by Leighton Cooke.

…after a hectic week. This beautiful Jokhang mural is one of my favourite pictures. Sometimes when your head is full and your spirit perplexed it is good to simply sit and reflect. Green Tara is the active aspect of compassion and one of the most powerful female “archetypes.” She transcends time and space to watch over our spiritual growth. The past few months have been an intense time for me with much to be grateful for but also a few growing pains here and there. There comes a time in everyone’s life when they stand alone and fearless, knowing their strengths and weaknesses and not afraid to look in the mirror, even though what they see is not always pretty. That is why I love Tara. She reminds me of all that I value most and how rare the morning dew on the lotus is. In spite of the stormy weather it is summertime and I am lucky to live a life surrounded by people who help to make each day a rich experience. My garden is small but growing. Many friends have left for the holidays and I wish them well. Manon is off to Italy soon and I shall miss her. My own compass is also pointing south to the mountains of the Iberian peninsula. It is the end of an era and a new beginning. Om tare tuttare ture svaha

About Leighton Cooke

The Original Cookiemouse
This entry was posted in Tibet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

